EEP Group

MEP Kelly elected First Vice-Chair of EU-UK Parliamentary Assembly

Published: Thu, 09 December 2021

Share this

Seán Kelly MEP has been elected as First Vice-Chair of the European Parliament’s new standing delegation to the EU-UK Parliamentary Assembly. Speaking from Brussels on Wednesday, the Ireland South MEP said he was “honoured” to take up the position on the delegation which will play a vital role in encouraging constructive dialogue between the EU and UK post-Brexit.

“I look forward to taking up a leading role as a Vice-Chair of European Parliament’s new standing delegation to the EU-UK Parliamentary Assembly. It was established following the entry into force of the EU-UK Trade and Cooperation Agreement (TCA), struck between the European Commission and the UK government last year. Moving forward from Brexit, this delegation offers the EU a strong voice, which will be vital in shaping the implementation of the EU-UK TCA and the Northern Ireland Protocol”, Kelly said.

“The newly formed Parliamentary Assembly will be a valuable forum for mutually beneficial dialogue with our UK neighbours.”

“Brexit has fundamentally changed the relationship between the EU and the UK, and while there are existing structures of communication, this Assembly stands alone in providing a platform for parliamentarians to discuss high level political issues that will be fundamental to a positive relationship”, the Fine Gael MEP added.

“This Assembly deserves to be prioritised as a means of transforming the EU’s admittedly frayed relations with the UK, but this will not happen automatically. I urge both the UK government and the MPs nominated to the Assembly to reflect on the positive opportunity such dialogue presents.”

Seán Kelly is the lead MEP for UK trade matters in the European Parliament and chair of the UK Monitoring Group.


The EU-UK Parliamentary Assembly consists of 35 members from both the European Parliament and Westminster, making 70 in total. On the EU side, Mr. Kelly will lead the EPP Group, which will send nine representatives to the assembly, as the largest political grouping in the European Parliament.
The European Parliament voted in favour of setting up the standing delegation in October 2021.

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of this site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.