EEP Group

MEP Kelly welcomes five new counties to South constituency

Published: Wed, 25 September 2013

Share this

Fine Gael MEP Sean Kelly has welcomed five new counties to his Ireland South constituency, as revealed by the Constituency Commission report on the new European electoral boundaries, published today (September 25th).

“I am happy that the newly extended South constituency will still cover Kerry, Cork, Tipperary, Limerick and Waterford. 

“In addition, the revised Ireland South boundary will also include Clare, Carlow, Kilkenny, Wicklow and Wexford according to the report published this evening.

“This new constituency extends from my home county of Kerry and across Munster incorporating neighbouring counties that I know very well. I am very familiar with the additional counties particularly through sport, as a former GAA President.

“It makes sense to extend the boundary to the neighbouring Carlow, Kilkenny, Wexford and Wicklow. County Clare previously belonged to the former Munster constituency so I am delighted to see it attached to the other Munster counties within Ireland South again.”

Concluding, Mr Kelly added: “My priority is ensuring Ireland South is represented at EU level and I look forward to engaging with my new constituents and continuing to be a strong voice in Europe”.

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of this site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.